Feel the Power of Love with the Heart Chakra

Feel the Power of Love with the Heart Chakra by Nancy Cardinal #TheWellnessUniverse #WUVIP #Heart

In part 5 of this 8 part series by Nancy “Samaria” Cardinal, she will discuss the heart chakra and everything that helps keep it cleared and balanced. Late to join this series? Catch up from the beginning with part 1 or from last week’s part 4!

The Heart Chakra is known by many names:



  1. Anahata

(Loosely translated from Sanskrit meaning unstruck or intact dwelling place of the unstruck sound)

  1. Mahakaruna

(Channel for universal compassion)

  1. Love Chakra
  2. Connector Chakra
  3. Centre Chakra
  4. Air Chakra
  5. Anahata-puri
  6. Padma-sundara
  7. Dwadasha
  8. Dwadashala
  9. Suryasangkhyadala
  10. Hrit
  11. Padma
  12. Hridaya Chakra
  13. Dwadashara Chakra

The Heart Chakra is located in the centre of the chest on the sternum, behind the heart. It is where the element of air governs love, kindness, joy, compassion, caring, altruism, of yourself and others. The Anahata is generally seen as green but the colours of pink, red, and white are also associated with it.

This is the chakra that is the connector and centre of your luminous auric body. It is the balance point between your body and mind, and the Earth and Heaven.

It connects the lower three physical chakras:
  1. Base Chakra
  2. Sacral Chakra
  3. Solar Plexus Chakra
To the upper spiritual chakras of:
  1. Throat Chakra
  2. Third Eye Chakra
  3. Crown Chakra

The Heart is the point in the chakra system that allows communication between your two halves: the spirit and the body. Anahata is a gateway that enables you to access your higher consciousness. It is also the place where your divine soul or higher self, resides.

When looking at the heart chakra it is also important to look at the hand chakras. Hand chakras are connected to the heart chakra. Anahata is also known as the place where healing comes from. Many healing techniques use the hands (hand chakras) to funnel this healing energy from the heart chakra out to the world. Two energy healing techniques I use; Pranic Energy Healing and Reiki follow this understanding. Besides sending out healing, the hand chakras are also the place where love, joy, kindness, and compassion, from the heart chakra, are sent out from you to others and the world.

Many in our world today have shut down this important chakra as a way of protecting themselves from our cerebral world, in doing this they become isolated, alone, afraid, cold and keep all at a distance. If the heart chakra is blocked or depleted the following things may occur: withdrawal, intolerance, coldness, impatience, being critical, lack of or no compassion or empathy, an inability to stay in a relationship, and being governed by a negative outlook on life. Such physical things as heart problems, chest pain, breathing problems, depressed immune system, or depression can occur.

An over energized or overactive heart chakra can also be a liability. The symptoms include: feeling like a martyr, becoming burnt out, being codependent, self-neglectful, clingy, jealous, an inability to stay in a relationship, conditional love, and being ruled by your emotions with little or no control. It also shows up physically as: enlarged heart, low blood pressure, breast problems, depression and a state of exhaustion.

To help open, balance, and heal Anahata you can do positive affirmations such as:
  • It starts with me
  • I love myself
  • Love is the answer
  • Love opens and heals me
  • I allow joy and happiness in my life
  • It is safe to open myself up to love
  • I show compassion for myself and others

Also, eat green foods, using green candles, wear the colour green/pink, take a walk on the grass on a breezy day, and putting your hand on your chest, feeling and/or hearing your heartbeat.

Properties include:
  • Archetypes:
  • Positive – The Lover
  • Negative – The Actor/Actress
Earthly Location:
  • Spain
  • Musical Note of F
Essential Oils:
  • Rose
  • Carnation
  • Lily of the valley
  • Marjoram
  • Hyssop
  • Lavender
  • Neroli
  • Chamomile
  • Ylang Ylang
  • Jasmine
  • Sandalwood
  • Frankincense
  • Rose Quartz
  • Jade
  • Green Aventurine
  • Emerald
  • Green Tourmaline
  • Malachite
  • Rhodochrosite
  • Diamond
  • Peridot

Put your hands on your heart. What do you feel? What can you hear? The heart is where it all starts, but it is up to you to keep it going, to feel loving and alive. Always remember, keep your heart open and you will forever see the positive benefits in your life of this beautiful chakra. You will forever feel the power of love in your life and you will have the ability to extend this beauty to all in our world. As Rumi said, “Love is the bridge between you and everything”.

-Nancy Cardinal (Samaria)