Hidden Gluten Sources That May Surprise You

Hidden Gluten Sources That May Surprise You by Austin Whittall #TheWellnessUniverse #WUVIP #WUWorldChanger #Gluten

As a celiac, I am very aware that gluten lurks in plain sight. 

When I dare to eat something that is not labeled as “Gluten-Free” (GF), I know I am taking a risk, a calculated one, but still a risk. So, I have honed my skills and can detect hidden gluten fairly easily. It isn’t difficult and just requires a bit of common sense and practice. 

Here Are My Tips and Some Sources of Hidden Gluten:

  1. Read the Ingredient List

In the U.S., wheat, or protein derived from wheat must be clearly listed on food labels. You will find wording like “flour (wheat)” or “contains wheat” printed on the label, meaning that the food is not GF.

Sometimes wheat may appear under other names such as semolina, spelt, farina, graham, durum, emmer, farro, oriental wheat, bulgur, Khorasan, and einkorn. But don’t be fooled, they all contain gluten.

That a product is labeled as “wheat-free” does not necessarily mean that it is gluten-free, it may still have some other gluten-containing cereal such as barley, rye, or triticale. You will have to keep an eye open for them and spot them on the ingredient list.

Barley may appear disguised as malt, malt extract, malt flavoring, maltose (malt sugar), malt syrup, malt vinegar, dextrimaltose, or hydrolyzed malt extract.

Rye can appear under its scientific name: Secale cereale.

Be aware that starches and “modified” starches such as hydrolyzed oat flour, hydrolyzed plant protein or HPP, hydrolyzed soy protein, and hydrolyzed vegetable protein may also contain gluten.

The food label may also alert about the risk of factory cross-contamination with a phrase like “Manufactured in a facility that also uses tree nuts, wheat, soy, and milk.”

  1. Vitamins and Supplements

Tablets and pills require binders and thickeners to hold them together and some manufacturers may use starch containing gluten, and also dextrin which can be obtained from wheat or barley. Stick to GF options.

  1. Food That Contains Gluten as A Hidden Ingredient

Flour or starches are used as thickeners in liquid-based foods; they improve the consistency, stability, and promote the suspension of the other ingredients without altering the flavor. They are also used as low-cost fillers, binders, and water absorbing ingredients in solid foods (think moist ham for instance).

The following foods contain flour or starch, which may be manufactured from wheat, rye, or barley will contain gluten:

  • Lunch meats (deli meats) such as sausages, hot dogs, bacon, and ham
  • Meatballs, meatloaf, veggie burgers, and tofu
  • Crab stick, surimi, seitan, and kani
  • Some instant mashed potatoes
  • Broth or bouillon cubes
  • Potato chips: their seasoning may contain wheat starch or malt vinegar
  • Soy Sauce. Did you know it is made from wheat, soybeans, salt, and water? Tempura and teriyaki are based on soy sauce. All of them are off-limits because they contain gluten.
  • Oyster sauce and gravy can be thickened with flour or starch
  • Miso pastes can be made with barley or rye
  • Beer, malt, and flavored distilled liquor may contain gluten; however, all other distilled beverages are gluten-free (even if distilled from barley or rye, the distillation process eliminates the gluten protein in the final liquor)
  • Omelets at restaurants may have pancake batter mixed in, to make them fluffier
  • Ice cream may contain flour and there is also the risk of cross-contamination from the ingredients in non-gluten-free flavors
  • Salad dressings such as ranch dressing may contain wheat flour as a thickener or malt vinegar for flavor
  • Croutons, candy, granola bars
  • Brown rice syrup may contain barley enzymes or caramel
  • Penicillium roqueforti is a fungus that gives blue-veined cheeses their typical taste, appearance, and smell. The fungus is sometimes grown on gluten-containing grains. Recently published studies have shown that the gluten content of these cheeses is undetectable, so maybe you could risk it and eat them
  • Mustard is made with non-distilled grain vinegar and therefore contains gluten
  • Avoid couscous, panko, roux, non-dairy creamers, and tortillas (unless they are 100% corn flour ones)
  • Some marshmallows contain wheat starch
  • Bran, brewer’s yeast, wheat germ, wheat oil, bulgur
  • Fried stuff. When eating out avoid fried food: breaded, and flour-coated food (battered chicken, onion rings, chicken tenders, mozzarella sticks, etc.) may be fried in the same oil your gluten-free chips or your potato skins were fried. This is a big cross-contamination risk
  1. Oats

Oats belong to the Festucoidae subfamily of cereals to which wheat, barley, and rye also belong. It contains a protein called avenin, which is similar to gluten. Many people suffering from celiac disease are avenin-sensitive and should avoid eating oats.

Others can tolerate oats without any side effects. However, as oats may be grown, stored, or even shipped together with wheat, barley, or rye, there is a high risk of cross-contamination. If you want to eat oats, use “certified gluten-free” brands.

Summing It Up

Read the food labels, learn the different names that gluten adopts and use common sense to avoid it. The best option is to stick to food that is labeled “gluten-free.”

In case of doubt, check out the manufacturer’s website, write them an e-mail, and learn more about keeping healthy and gluten-free.

– Austin



All information, content, and material is for informational purposes only and is not intended to serve as a substitute for the consultation, diagnosis, and/or medical treatment of a qualified physician or healthcare provider. The information supplied through or on this page, or by any representative or agent of The Wellness Universe, is for informational purposes only and does not constitute medical, legal, or other professional advice. Health-related information provided through this website is not a substitute for medical advice and should not be used to diagnose or treat health problems or to prescribe any medical devices or other remedies. The Wellness Universe reserves the right to remove, edit, move or close any content item for any reason, including, but not limited to, comments that are in violation of the laws and regulations formed pursuant to the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act. None of the posts and articles on The Wellness Universe page may be reprinted without express written permission.



The Wellness Universe Self-Care Author of the Day! Chapter 7 – Effective Decision Making: Eliminating Conflict and Confusion, Melissa Jirovec, Mindset Strategist. 19 days left until you can pick up your copy of The Wellness Universe “Guide to Complete Self-Care, 25 Tools for Stress Relief!” Join our book club to get the announcement, special events, and to connect with all the authors!



“The Wellness Universe is here to serve your best well-being. If you are experiencing anxiety, grief, overwhelm, guilt, anger, or seeking ways to cope and get help for stress, relationships, parenting, or any other issue during this challenging time, we have wonderful resources for you to connect with. Our WU Best Help members are offering reduced rates, sliding scale payment options, and even pro-bono sessions. WU Best Help


https://www.thewellnessuniverse.com/featured-products-services/
Find great products and services for your well-being from members of The Wellness Universe!

Comments

comments